When the Wind Blows

When the Wind Blows

C$22.95Price

Text & illustrations: Todd Stewart

 

Two pine trees standing in a forest have a conversation, a young tree and a mature tree. The old one explains to the other how the wind helps them to live and grow, but also how it can tear trees apart. Over time, the young pine gains confidence in itself and becomes aware of its own destiny. With this conversation of a philosophical nature that spreads over years, perhaps even decades, Todd Stewart tells us a story about time that passes, about the trials and joys of living. He offers us a poetic take on the cycle of life.

 

BROWSE THIS BOOK

BUY THIS BOOK

  • This edition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-55-9

    Released on October 22nd, 2019

    24.1 × 31.75 cm
    48 pages — Hardcover
    5+ years

  • Reviews

    “To humanize the whole subject of the book, Stewart chose to connect a young tree who has everything to learn and an older one for whom the end of the journey draws near. These two trees, which are shown here tossed by the wind, inhabited by birds and squirrels, lose their leaves in the fall and regain life in the spring. They participate in the life of the forest, in this great ecosystem that brings us together.’’

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

     

    “Philosophical, poetic and contemplative, this book is about wind and trees, of course, but it is mostly about life and living beings. It deals with the process of renewal and with intergenerational legacies, with the strength that comes out of them. The illustrations by Todd Stewart are sublime. They were made by using the silkscreen printing process.”
    Éléna Laliberté, Les libraires

    “Stewart’s unique style shows trees dancing to the rhythm of the wind and of seasons. He portrays them as true forces of nature facing the elements. Children will enjoy observing the details here, from animals living in the trees to changes in the sky which evolves according to the weather and time of the year. A picture book to read slowly.”

    “M'as-tu vu? M'as-tu lu?”, Lurelu

  • Foreign editions

    Canada & USA — Owlkids Books

    China — Dang Dang Publishing

    Korea — Dongsim

• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
Quand le vent souffle

Quand le vent souffle

22,95C$Prix

Texte & illustrations: Todd Stewart

 

Dans une forêt, un vieux pin en voit grandir un autre à ses côtés. L'aîné explique au plus jeune comment le vent peut les aider à vivre, à pousser, mais aussi comment il peut leur causer du tort par moments. Peu à peu, le jeune conifère gagne en confiance et prend conscience de son propre destin. Avec cette conversation de nature philosophique qui s'étend sur des années, peut-être même des décennies, Todd Stewart nous propose une histoire sur le temps qui passe. Il évoque les joies, les peines et le cycle de la vie tout en nous offrant un point de vue poétique sur celui-ci.

 

FEUILLETER CE LIVRE

ACHETER

  • Cette édition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-55-9

    Parue le 22 octobre 2019

    24,1 × 31,75 cm

    48 pages — Couverture rigide
    5 ans et +

  • Ce qu’on en dit

    «Afin d’humaniser l’ensemble du propos de l’album, Stewart a fait le choix de mettre en relation un jeune qui a tout à apprendre et un aïeul à la fin de sa route. [...] Ces deux arbres que l’on voit ainsi ballottés par le vent, habités par les oiseaux et les écureuils, perdent leur feuille à l’automne et revivent au printemps, participent de la vie de la forêt, de ce grand écosystème qui nous rassemble.»

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

     

    «Philosophique, poétique et contemplatif, le livre parle de vent et d’arbres, mais au final de vie et d’êtres vivants. Il y est question de transmission, d’épreuves et de la force qu’on en retire une fois qu’elles sont surmontées, de renouvellement, de legs entre les générations… Soulignons [...] les illustrations sublimes de Todd Stewart, issues du procédé de la sérigraphie.»

    Éléna Laliberté, Les libraires

     

    «[Le] style unique [de Stewart] montre les arbres dansant au rythme du vent et des saisons. Il les dépeint comme de véritables forces de la nature affrontant les intempéries. Les enfants auront du plaisir à observer les détails : les animaux leur rendent visite et le ciel change selon la météo et le temps de l’année. Un album contemplatif, qu’il faut lire lentement.»

    «M'as-tu vu? M'as-tu lu?», Lurelu

  • Éditions étrangères

    Canada & É.-U. — Owlkids Books

    Chine — Dang Dang Publishing

    Corée — Dongsim