The Snow Lion

The Snow Lion

C$20.95Price

Text: Jim Helmore

Illustrations: Richard Jones

 

Caro just moved into a new house. Everything is white: as white as white can be! She is lonely, until she meets a lion, who is white too. She plays, with him at her side, and becomes his friend. “Have you ever tried the slide at the park?” the lion asks. Hmm… It’s not easy to take a leap into the unknown. But wonderful encounters await!

 

BROWSE

BUY

  • This edition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-48-1

    Released on February 20th, 2018

    27.8 x 24.5 cm

    48 pages — Hardcover
    4+ years

  • Reviews

    “Behind a truly vintage look is a beautiful story about shyness and openness towards others. The text by Jim Helmore is smooth and poetic and the illustrations by Richard Jones are magnificent. An incredible picture book to read again and again.”

    Pierre-Alexandre Bonin, Librairie Monet (Montréal)

     

    “The theme of adaptation, finely staged here through Jim Helmore's simple text and short dialogues, is supported by evocative graphics. The progressive apparition of colors on the house's indoor walls leads to the gradual disappearance of the feline, standing as a metaphor for Caro's openness to the world around her. Furthermore, Richard Jone's delicate style creates atmospheres reflecting the heroine's everyday life... Simply beautiful.”

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

  • Foreign editions

    First published in English — Simon & Schuster UK

• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
Le lion blanc

Le lion blanc

20,95C$Prix

Texte: Jim Helmore

Illustrations: Richard Jones

 

Caro vient d’emménager dans une nouvelle maison. Tout y est blanc de blanc! Elle s’y sent bien seule, jusqu’au jour où elle croise un lion, blanc aussi. À ses côtés, elle s’amuse et cultive l’amitié. «As-tu déjà essayé le toboggan dans le parc?», lui demande le lion. Hum… Pas facile de faire un pas dehors vers l’inconnu. Mais pourtant, de belles rencontres l’y attendent!

 

FEUILLETER CE LIVRE

ACHETER

  • Cette édition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-48-1

    Parue le 20 février 2018

    27,8 x 24,5 cm

    48 pages — Couverture rigide
    4 ans et +

  • Ce qu’on en dit

    «Derrière un look résolument vintage se cache une magnifique histoire sur la timidité et l’ouverture aux autres. Le texte de Jim Helmore est tout en douceur et en poésie, alors que Richard Jones propose des illustrations magnifiques. Un album incroyable à lire et à relire.»

    Pierre-Alexandre Bonin, Librairie Monet (Montréal)

     

    «Le thème de l’adaptation, finement mis en scène ici grâce au texte simple et aux dialogues brefs de Jim Helmore, est soutenu par un graphisme évocateur. L’apparition progressive de couleurs sur les murs de la maison tend à faire disparaître le félin, témoignant ainsi de l’ouverture de Caro sur le monde qui l’entoure. Le trait délicat de Richard Jones offre par ailleurs une ambiance qui reflète le quotidien de l’héroïne... Du joli.»

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

  • Éditions étrangères

    Édition originale en langue anglaise — Simon & Schuster UK