• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
The Story of Herman

The Story of Herman

C$21.95Price

Texte/Text & illustrations: Catherine Ho

 

A wreck washed ashore and strange food cans lay scattered along the beach. Herman the Lizard and Max the Raven discover them while playing nearby. The gluttonous Herman eats up all the contents of the cans. All of a sudden, he doesn't feel well... In this fantastic tale, a huge surprise is waiting for Max and the other animals living in the forest. But Max will neither lose confidence nor his temper while trying to help his friend.

 

BUY

  • This edition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-23-8

    Released on February 15th, 2016

    25.4 x 32 cm

    56 pages — Hardcover
    5+ years

  • Reviews

    “Although the plot is quite inviting, this animal tale's main interest lies much more in its visual counterpart. Alternating pages of text and illustrations in a classic graphic presentation and using dark illustrations on a yellowish background which evokes parchment paper, the book carries us in a universe inspired by ancient tales.”

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir


    “The mastery of Catherine Ho's drawings is remarkable, and each page is full of details that one takes pleasure in observing. The characters all possess unique personalities, emotions, postures, and faces that are perfectly conveyed by the illustrations.”

    Pierre-Alexandre Bonin, Campagne pour la lecture

    “Breaking the rules of classic children's literature from the very start, Catherine Ho offers us a book both poetic and surrealistic, and a little unsettling. We can feel the benevolent shadow of illustrator Edward Gorey hovering overhead.”
    Aurore Lehmann, La Marelle Mag

  • Foreign editions

    All rights available

• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
L'histoire d'Herman

L'histoire d'Herman

21,95C$Prix

Texte & illustrations: Catherine Ho

 

Une épave s’est échouée et d’étranges boîtes de nourriture se sont éparpillées sur le rivage. Herman le lézard et Max le corbeau qui s’amusent tout près de là les découvrent. Gourmand, Herman engloutit le contenu des boîtes. Soudain, il ne se sent pas très bien… Ce conte fantastique réserve une surprise gigantesque à Max et aux animaux de la forêt. Mais Max ne perdra ni confiance ni sang-froid pour venir en aide à son ami.

 

ACHETER CE LIVRE

  • Cette édition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-23-8

    Parue le 15 février 2016

    25,4 x 32 cm

    56 pages — Couverture rigide
    5 ans et +

  • Ce qu’on en dit

    «Bien que la trame soit tout à fait invitante, tout l’intérêt de ce conte animalier réside beaucoup plus dans le visuel. La présentation, de facture classique, alternant une page de texte et une page illustrée, tout comme les illustrations noires sur fond jaunâtre, évoquant le papier parchemin, nous transportent dans un univers inspiré des contes anciens.»

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

     

    «La maîtrise du trait de Catherine Ho est remarquable, et chaque page regorge de détails qu’on prend plaisir à observer. Les personnages possèdent une personnalité unique, qui est parfaitement retransmise par les illustrations, tout comme les émotions dans les postures et les visages.»

    Pierre-Alexandre Bonin, Campagne pour la lecture

     

    «En dynamitant d'emblée les codes de la littérature jeunesse classique, Catherine Ho nous sert un album à la fois surréaliste, très poétique et un peu inquiétant, où planerait l'ombre bienfaisante de l'illustrateur Edward Gorey.»

    Aurore Lehmann, La Marelle Mag

  • Éditions étrangères

    Tous droits disponibles