• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
This Thing Called Life

This Thing Called Life

C$23.95Price

Text & illustrations: Christian Borstlap

 

What is life? What do we know about it? Of course, we know a few things about reproduction, perception, breathing, movement and even more. Life is full of surprises. Sometimes it is sweet, sometimes difficult. Sometimes, living is also surviving. Above all, one thing about life is certain: we do not live alone. The life of every being is linked to the one of others. Life must be preserved. It must be celebrated in all its forms.

 

BROWSE

BUY

  • This edition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-71-9

    Released on September 17th, 2019

    23.2 x 30.5 cm

    56 pages — Hardcover
    4+ years

  • Reviews

    ‘‘Comme des géants deserves an honorable mention: by publishing This Thing Called Life, a work by Christian Borstlap, it relased its first carbon neutral book. [...] This picture book, which mixes documentary and fiction, praises life. [...] Moreover, its success is contagious.’’

    Les libraires magazine

    ‘‘Beautiful and singular documentary, adapted from an animated short film. It allows us to understand the living with our senses as much as with our heads. Note that this is the first carbon-neutral book published by Comme des géants [...].’’
    Marie Allard, La Presse

    ‘‘The compositions follow one another, all so different, offering the informed eye the opportunity to discover life here, there, hidden, almost jumping out of the book. Everything there makes sense and creates meaning.’’
    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

  • Éditions étrangères

    Allemagne — Prestel Verlag

    Anglais monde — Verlagsgruppe Random House

    Belgique (français monde) — Casterman

    Espagne — Barbara Fiore Editora

    Grèce — Patakis

    Corée — Gilbultschool

    Chine — Ginkgo Book Co. LTD

• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

À propos de la vie

23,95C$Prix

Texte & illustrations: Christian Borstlap

 

Qu’est-ce que la vie? Que sait-on à son sujet? Bien sûr, on connaît la reproduction, la perception, la respiration, le mouvement et un tas d’autres trucs. Pleine de surprises, la vie est parfois douce, parfois difficile. Car vivre, par moments, c’est également survivre. Une chose est certaine: on ne vit pas seul. La vie des uns est liée à celle des autres. Il faut préserver la vie. Il faut la célébrer sous toutes ses formes.

 

FEUILLETER CE LIVRE

ACHETER

  • Cette édition

    ISBN 978-2-924332-71-9

    Parue le 17 septembre 2019

    23,2 x 30,5 cm

    56 pages — Couverture rigide
    4 ans et +

  • Ce qu’on en dit

    «Beau documentaire singulier, adapté d’un court métrage d’animation. Il permet de comprendre le vivant avec ses sens autant qu’avec sa tête. À noter: il s’agit du premier livre carboneutre de l’éditeur Comme des géants [...].»

    Marie Allard, La Presse

     

    «Les tableaux se suivent et ne se ressemblent pas, offrant à l’œil averti le loisir de découvrir la vie ici, là, cachée, prête à sauter. [...] Quand tout concourt à créer du sens.»

    Marie Fradette, Le Devoir

     

    «La maison d'édition Comme des géants mérite une mention honorable: avec la parution d'À propos de la vie, de Christian Borstlap, elle fait paraître son premier livre carboneutre. [...] Cet album, heureux mélange entre documentaire et fiction, fait l'éloge de la vie [...]. D'ailleurs, le succès que connaît ce livre est contagieux [...].»

    Magazine Les libraires

  • Éditions étrangères

    Allemagne — Prestel Verlag

    Anglais monde — Verlagsgruppe Random House

    Belgique (français monde) — Casterman

    Espagne — Barbara Fiore Editora

    Grèce — Patakis

    Corée — Gilbultschool